Floating City: Modelling Pt. 1

So we started to think of objects to model which would make our project as realistic as possible. We looked at different buildings, people, artefacts and also the ground and the atmosphere that Pompeii has. Since we wanted the volcano to be in the back ground and a close up, we also looked at Vesuvius and the are surrounding so that we were able to create this as similar to the volcano as we could.

Clare and Jess looked at images of ruins of buildings and pillars whilst me and Sarah focused on the smaller details such as the smaller objects and Vesuvius. Sarah focused on creating the Volcano and also some pillar models, whilst I focused on created the ground for the scene.

I started to look at different images of the walkways in Pompeii to figure out how they looked and also the best way to begin modelling.

Pompeii_street
Pompeii Street

All of the images I looked at showed the streets of Pompeii looking like this. I decided the best way to do this was to make a plane and use multiple spheres to make the stones and then just duplicate this. I did this by squashing them down and using the sculpting tool in MAYA to pull them in different directions so they weren’t just round. After doing so sphere by sphere, I applied them to the plane and once finished I parented the stones to the path so that they were able to move round together.

Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 12.03.48
Pompeii Path in MAYA
Screen Shot 2017-03-17 at 12.03.19
Pompeii Path Render View

So this is the path I created before adding textures. I made the small one and then duplicated 3 times to create the longer path, I then grouped these so that there was a longer path.

References: Pompeii Street

 

 

Leave a Reply

