MAYA: Furniture

On Monday 28th, we had a tutorial on how to add edge loops, smooth objects etc. We had to create a piece of furniture showing 6.5 cubes for human scale for Tuesday so I decided to try and create my fireplace – again, more difficult than I thought. I used a cube and scaled it up then selected faces and pulled them back slightly to make an indent. I extruded the bottom slightly and pulled it out to create the hearth and shelf at the top of the fireplace. I pulled out a couple of the edges from the indent shape to make it look like a section in which the fire will go. I tried to add the edge loops and make the edges more rounded but for some reason I couldn’t figure out how to add them correctly and when I rounded the fireplace by pressing 3, it ended up looking like a foreign object! The finished fireplace also has half a hollow shelf, which I don’t know how to fix so a bit of research on MAYA and trial and error will hopefully teach me how to.

I also played around with a couple of cylinders to create some vases, one existent in my home and one not. I just wanted to mess around with the edges and formation of the shape to see what I could come up with. Adding edge loops I was able to pull in and out the edges and vertices to create different shapes. I tried to use this task as an experimental one, to try out different tools on MAYA and figure out better how to use them and how they worked.

screen-shot-2016-11-30-at-18-10-34
Fireplace, vases and human scale
Leave a Reply

